First Name
Bob
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
sold 22 Hybrid XL now 24 Hybrid XL, 57 Chevy 454ci
Engine
2.5L Hybrid
I don't see how a computer programming can detect a future/soon bearing failure issue. Possibly something related to the "knock sensor" so when the rod bearing starts to make noise it's detected or maybe oil pressure loss? Keep in mind, I was a shop mechanic in early 70's and there were several cars that had 4 cylinder engines that ran so rough and no power I said no way will a 4 cyl ever work. Then later when there was talk of engines with no distributor we all said no way, how will plugs be fired. Guess the answer is don't under estimate what future technology can do.
Sponsored

Last edited:

MakinDoForNow

2.5L Hybrid
First Name
James
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2022 Maverick
Engine
2.5L Hybrid
I don't see how a computer programming can detect a future/soon bearing failure issue. Possibly something related to the "knock sensor" so when the rod bearing starts to make noise it's detected or maybe oil pressure loss? Keep in mind, I was a shop mechanic in early 70's and there were several cars that had 4 cylinder engines that ran so rough and no power I said no way will a 4 cyl ever work. Then later when there was talk of engines with no distributor we all said no way, how will plugs be fired. Guess the answer is don't estimate what future technology can do.
I would expect that the knock sensor picks up engine vibrations and the program searches for the "knock" vibrations. Program change to isolate the upcoming bearing vibrations related to the fire??? Worst case would be having to add an additional sensor and change program to test it.

huunvubu

2.5L Hybrid
First Name
Steve
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2023 Ford Maverick Hybrid
Engine
2.5L Hybrid