Sponsored

Young Buyer; I would like your opinion...

cmoraspace

2.0L EcoBoost
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2022 Maverick AWD FX4
Engine
2.0L EcoBoost
(Too long/Didn't Read: I need help deciding the powertrain and the color)
Hi guys, I'm currently thinking of getting a new Maverick and I'd like to see others' opinions to help me finalize my choice. I'm a very indecisive person lol.
I'm currently a 21 y/o college student, I currently drive a base model 2021 Chevy Colorado (its my uncles) and I loathe it. It needs more power and returns lackluster mpg (~22). I saw the Maverick about a month ago and though that this would be the perfect truck for me, as its compact and has some pretty neat tech features.

I'm going to go for the Lariat trim, specifically for the Lane centering and Adaptive Cruise Control features. My dad just bought a 2021 F-150 Platinum and those features are absolutely amazing; you can pretty much drive the truck without barley even doing anything. I plan on coming home a lot from college so long drives are a must for me. However, having a truck that can drive all-terrain and tow/haul a decent amount are also important.

This is where I want to reach out to you guys and see your takes. I currently started out reserving the AWD FX4 with the 2.0L, but I switched to the Hybrid recently, because I wasn't too sure what the mpg on the 2.0L was. When that was released recently and saw that its at the high 20's and low 30's, I'm not sure if I should switch back. Here's why:
1. I'm not fond of CVT transmissions. Will the new eCVT be reliable? Is it fun/comfortable to drive? This truck will have to last me a while, and I'd hate to have issues in the future. I'd rather stick with the 8-speed if that's more well-known and reliable for lasting.