First Name
Heman
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2023 XLT Maverick
Engine
2.0L EcoBoost
Well, I have a new 2023 XLT. And probably intake valves pretty shiny now. Been reading about these GDI engines, and how affects engines, particularly the valves. I was a mechanic in my younger days, did lots of valves jobs. Even back then with carburetors those valves would get dirty, mostly the exhaust valves, covered with carbon. Intakes would have some junk on them too.

So the modern GDI/turbocharges engines would tend to see backsides of intakes get really dirty. Not a warm fuzzy feeding for me.

some say change your oil often with Ford spec good oil, drive easy, not tow hard, nor do hills, where the turbo will put more boost., this might minimize buildups on the intake valves.

The more I do research here and elsewhere, I am beginning to think if I did right thing, buying a Maverick. The dealer I brought the truck from has a Warranty Forever program on drivetrains. But these warranty programs have hic cups clauses in them. I may have to seriously consider the FordProtect plan. I had that on my F250 truck, given the complexity of these vehicles. The saving grace may be I’m retired, don’t travel as much these days, vehicle parked in driveway. I had it fir 3 weeks so far, only 344 miles on odometer so far.

however, I want to point out my F250 diesel has direct injection, turbo feeds to Intake valves, other than the fuel, not much different aspects from any GDI principles.
Sponsored

Last edited:

surfstar

2.5L Hybrid
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2023 XL Hybrid
Engine
2.5L Hybrid
You'll be fine. Internet is full of horror stories. Most aren't true. I had some worry with previous VW - turbo GDI - never had any intake valve problems.