Sponsored

Anyone tapped factory bed light to power aftermarket under-rail LEDs?

csmith9058

2.0L EcoBoost
First Name
Csmith
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
Maverick
Engine
2.0L EcoBoost
Has anyone tapped into the factory bed light to run aftermarket under rail LEDs so the bed lights and under rail lights all turn on and off with the inside and in-bed switches? Is it possible to tap into the factory bed light and still hide the wires? Or is it a bad idea to run the lights that way? I have zero experience with running aftermarket lights. I do have a toggle to mount in the bed, but having everything wired into the factory switches would be more convenient.
Now that I'm looking at it, maybe newer models could utilize the 2 auxiliary 12v hookups and a separate hookup that taps the factory switches for aftermarket lights. Just plug the lights in and use the existing factory switches. Would be way easier.
Sponsored

icegradner

2.5L Hybrid
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2022 Maverick Hybrid
Engine
2.5L Hybrid
Clubs

Ford did put the two connectors in the bed for that kind of stuff, no reason to tie into the overhead brake light.

OP
OP

csmith9058

2.0L EcoBoost
First Name
Csmith
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
Maverick
Engine
2.0L EcoBoost
Ford did put the two connectors in the bed for that kind of stuff, no reason to tie into the overhead brake light.
Not the overhead. The light that's mounted into the side of the bed. It has a switch on it already. Being able to tap that for my lights would save me having to mount a separate switch inside the bed. I understand wiring the toggle in is easy especially with the included pigtail, but there's already a light switch a foot away.lol

icegradner

2.5L Hybrid
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2022 Maverick Hybrid
Engine
2.5L Hybrid
Clubs