Sponsored

Perimeter Plus KN1Z-19A361-A -- is FORScan required for installing?

Jimmy J

2.5L Hybrid
First Name
Jimmy
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
Ford Maverick
Engine
2.5L Hybrid
I have looked at the threads and I am a bit confused. By no means am I a mechanic, I am a school teacher so that is why I am asking. I get the installation is easy. But on some forums you need to go into FORScan and activate some things. I have a 2023 XLT Hybrid. Has anyone installed one of the perimeter plus units and did you have to go into FORScan? How sensitive is the shock sensor?
Sponsored

Lou'sBluMav

2.5L Hybrid
First Name
Lou
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2004 Chevy Colorado(sold Oct) 2018 Subaru Forester
Engine
2.5L Hybrid
I removed the neg battery cable while installing. When I finished and replaced the cable, all I did was to turn the system on, then off. Note that I also installed the LED indicator. The sensitivity is adjustable on the sensor box that is strapped to the firewall.

cj99x

2.0L EcoBoost
First Name
James
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2022 RAM Power Wagon, 2022 Maverick XLT AWD RHCP
Engine
2.0L EcoBoost
you don't need ForScan to activate - follow the instructions in the install guide and it will activate just fine. If I remember correctly it was opening and closing the door and a toggle of the ignition switch was all. To set the sensitivity you open the window and arm the system and strike the steering wheel until you get it set to your desired level.

cj99x

2.0L EcoBoost
First Name
James
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2022 RAM Power Wagon, 2022 Maverick XLT AWD RHCP
Engine
2.0L EcoBoost