David
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2020 F150
Engine
2.0L EcoBoost
Hi everyone,

One of the items on our radar for the Maverick is an overlanding rack. However, I don't want to build just some generic rack so this is to get an idea if what I want to offer is something everyone else is interested in.

I have an over landing trailer I've built already, specifically for this truck. I'd however like to just be able to take my gear, my over landing tent and dogs without a trailer. I'll describe what I'd like to offer below.

The idea is an adjustable height rack. The lowest point would keep an over landing tent out of the wind, which should keep fuel milage fairly unchanged. As much as I'm a power hungry car builder, I also appreciate getting 30 mpg!

This over landing rack could also be telescoped up (removable locking pins) to a height that would be slightly higher than the roof line so kayaks and such could be transported on top.

I'd also like to fill the sides with M.O.L.L.E panels for attaching gear to along with an optional rear M.O.L.L.E panel that would basically enclose the back like a truck cap. The idea for this enclosure for me is there are times I can't take my dog with me and I'd be able to leave them there, safe, under the shade of the tent. I can also then lock gear in the back.

This is not going to be a "cheap" rack to build and the shipping will be oversized freight, however, I believe the ability to do so much, for me at least, would make it worth the expense to build.

Let's hear some thoughts.

Thank you.
Sponsored

OP
OP
Buschur

Buschur

2.0L EcoBoost
First Name
David
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2020 F150
Engine
2.0L EcoBoost
Update, we have the plates for the bed being laser cut and tubing on order. The truck has been on the dyno for 2 weeks straight.

This rack is in process though.

Cipher

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
Ford Fusion
Hi everyone,