Sponsored

My First Truck - Wheels & Tires Questions (sorry - Newbe)

Springboks

2.5L Hybrid
First Name
Deon
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
Ford Maverick
Engine
2.5L Hybrid
Hi All,

This will be my first truck. 51 years old... and have never owned one before. Mainly because a sub 20 MPG and $40K+ cost was just not something I wanted.

The Hybrid Maverick has changed all that for me. I want to place an order for a Lariat with Lariat Luxury package. However, I like the look of a slightly aggressive stance. I would like to raise the truck by 6 inches as well as give it a wider stance by adding wheel flares and putting on more aggressive looking bigger wheels.

I have a couple of newbe questions, since I have never done this before.

1) Can the dealership raise the truck 6".
2) If 1) is a "no", then if I take it to some other place to do, will it void my warranty?
3) If I raise the truck 6", will there be performance/handling issues, and if so, what issues could I expect?
4) How large can one go with wheels/tires? I know stock is 17/18 x 7". Would 20 x 9" be too large?
5) My intention is to give it a wider stance. Is it better to get a 9" tire with a wheel that has an offset that pushes it out 1.5", or to get a narrower tire and add spacers?
6) Are there any performance issues going to a bigger/wider tire? How severely is MPG impacted?
7) Would the dealership install 20x9 wheels/tires?
8) Would the dealership install spacers.
9) If they do install them, would I get credit for the wheels/tires removed?
10) If they don't and I go aftermarket, would that void my warranty?

I know many of these questions may cause you to roll your eyes, so apologies in advance. I have been looking at the wheels sub forum, but not quite finding all the info I need.

Thanks in advance.
Sponsored

STARCOMMTREY1

2.5L Hybrid
First Name
Trey
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
F350, Ultra Classic, Versa Note and soon to be Mav
Engine
2.5L Hybrid