First Name
Chris
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
C-6 Corvette
Engine
2.5L Hybrid
I don't hear much about new vehicle undercoating. Is that service is still available or desirable?
Sponsored

ItsaMaverick

2.5L Hybrid
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
Maverick
Engine
2.5L Hybrid
I think it is a bad idea personally. Guaranteed they will never get it clean enough for perfect bonding unless it is done at the factory or the body is removed from the frame (in the case of a traditional truck). Knowing that it may peel and then salty water can get trapped behind it expediting corrosion. I am personally a fan of just hosing underneath with rustoleum professional flat black enamel any time I am under the vehicle and i see rust. I don't even really clean well. Just wire brush it and hose it with paint. The paint flakes instead of bubbling which is why I like it much more. I have been doing this for 10 years with good results. And it looks good on resale if someone goes under the vehicle.

OP
OP
Chris_G

Chris_G

2.5L Hybrid
First Name
Chris
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
C-6 Corvette
Engine
2.5L Hybrid
I think it is a bad idea personally. Guaranteed they will never get it clean enough for perfect bonding unless it is done at the factory or the body is removed from the frame (in the case of a traditional truck). Knowing that it may peel and then salty water can get trapped behind it expediting corrosion. I am personally a fan of just hosing underneath with rustoleum professional flat black enamel any time I am under the vehicle and i see rust. I don't even really clean well. Just wire brush it and hose it with paint. The paint flakes instead of bubbling which is why I like it much more. I have been doing this for 10 years with good results. And it looks good on resale if someone goes under the vehicle.
Thanks, when I sold my truck it didn't look so good underneath due to rust. I will keep that rustoleum thought.

Rkbrumbelow

First Name
Robert
Threads
Reaction score