tngreg

First Name
Greg
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
Forester
Hello all!
Finally got a chance to drive a Maverick this weekend and liked it.
Question before I order...for those in the know on the hybrid power plant. We are hoping to give wife's Outback a break from family of (3) trips to Florida. Will the hybrid be ok to drive on long distance trips say...8 to 11 hour trips?
Sorry to sound ignorant, but I've no previous experience with this system...

Really excited about this vehicle, checks all the boxes for me as a daily.
Thanks all in advance...
Sponsored

Jakb

2.5L Hybrid
First Name
Jak
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
23 XLT Hybrid
Engine
2.5L Hybrid
Totally fine. I've done many cross country trips in hybrids and they do fine.

The worst that can happen is you aren't generating much power so you run on the ICE the whole time.
The mpg will drop on long flat stretches of highway, but that's it. Rolling hills are where the hybrid can shine and some road trips are full of em.

If you really want to annoy your family look up hypermilling.

NewBernWolf

2.5L Hybrid
First Name
Lynda
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2017 Prius
Engine
2.5L Hybrid
Absolutely. We've made many long trips in a hybrid, including all interstate driving from eastern NC to Louisville, KY (700 miles each way), plus a 3 week roundtrip from eastern NC to Acadia in Maine, to Niagara Falls, Ontario to Adirondack National Park, back to NC in a hybrid. It's just a car. It'll go wherever as long as you're driving on actual roads. You'll love not having to gas it up very often.

MLowe05

2.5L Hybrid
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2023 Tesla MYP & M3RWD
Engine
2.5L Hybrid
Upgrade to Lariat Luxury package for the ADAS systems (lane centering, adaptive cruise) and it will be an excellent road trip companion.

Sponsored

BILLNOROVILLE

2.5L Hybrid
First Name
Bill
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
prius, Hybrid XLT, Honda 1100Rebel, 2) Hawk 650NT
Engine
2.5L Hybrid