First Name
Tom
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2023 Ford Maverick Lariat
Engine
2.5L Hybrid
While waiting on my Maverick to be built... I was looking over the owner's manual online. I noticed the headlights control knob page showing the "Autolamps" in the 3rd position. I am a transit driver for our local Ford dealer. I've noticed all the newer models have changed as well. For years the "Autolamps" were in the 4th position, so it was habit for me to turn all the way to the right to go to "Autolamps". I've asked a few of the salespeople but none of them seem to know. Guess they missed that day of training, lol.

May seem trivial but does anyone know why Ford changed this? Just curious...
Sponsored

The Weatherman

2.0L EcoBoost
First Name
Dean
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2022 Maverick Lariat Lux FX4 4K x 2
Engine
2.0L EcoBoost
🤔 That’s an interesting question. I hadn’t even realized it had changed.

rclee

2.5L Hybrid
First Name
Rob
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2022 XLT Maverick Lux,A51,Hybrid,Rear Slider.
Engine
2.5L Hybrid
Clubs

Don't they default to that setting anyway? I know every time I get in my Mav the lights are on auto.

jsus

2.5L Hybrid
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2022 Ford Escape Hybrid AWD 😉
Engine
2.5L Hybrid
Auto lamps is in place of manual headlight on because they're pushing you to use this. As others have noted, the switch will default to auto. That means that no matter what position you leave it in, when you return to the v vehicle, it will be back in auto. Auto isn't the last setting as it's what you want to use unless you choose to go a step beyond to keeping them on the whole drive.