Mark
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
22 Mav HYB XLT
Engine
2.5L Hybrid
hello,
newbie here-got my Mav XLT Hybrid Carbon Grey last March(avg 45-47 mpg).Love it-wife not so much(she is short).No mods other than touches of orange on the exterior,will post pics later.
Wondering if anyone out there has done a DIY lowering with EIBACH springs? If so,what method did you compress springs? I am looking at getting 4 MacPherson strut compressors and want to know other methods or if anyone has a suggestion...I have contacted my Ford dealer and most shops around here and no one will touch it!
I am confident enough to do it myself(have rebuilt engines and most other auto procedures) just not sure about the spring compression.
Sponsored

Ratbones2002

2.5L Hybrid
First Name
Bob
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2022 Maverick Lariat Hybrid
Engine
2.5L Hybrid
I used the coil spring compressor from harbor freight. You can get them on amazon for cheaper. You only need the compressor for the front struts. The rear springs come out easily by hand.

OP
OP
jorl

jorl

2.5L Hybrid
First Name
Mark
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
22 Mav HYB XLT
Engine
2.5L Hybrid
I used the coil spring compressor from harbor freight. You can get them on amazon for cheaper. You only need the compressor for the front struts. The rear springs come out easily by hand.
thanks,exactly what I wanted to hear

Ottocycle

2.0L EcoBoost
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
23' RS6 Avant, 14' CTS-V Wagon, 87' BMW 535is
Engine
2.0L EcoBoost
Clubs

You can always rent spring compressors from any auto parts store also. You just need 2. You're only doing one spring at a time

Sponsored

twolane

2.5L Hybrid
First Name
Ryan
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
Hybrid XLT
Engine
2.5L Hybrid
I did mine, myself and had never done suspension work before. Very handy otherwise (mostly electronics)
Install took me about 3 hours?
I had some trouble in the getting the shocks out and needed to undo the calipers to get enough clearance.