First Name
Keith
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2018 Ford Escape; 2006 Pontiac Grand Prix
Engine
2.0L EcoBoost
Vehicle: 2022 Maverick, 2.0, Lariat, 360, 4k tow, with a Truxedo soft roll up bed cover.

Disclaimer: I am not a technician, car aficionado, or an expert on all the nuances of a driving machine. I'm just a driver who enjoys driving, and a nice vehicle.

That aside, my wife and I recently completed a 4000+ mile road trip from Phoenix, AZ to mid Michigan in our new Maverick. It was not a "pleasure" ride, but to attend a memorial service or a relative who had passed away. So it was an "out and back" with no side trips or excursions. It was mostly on Interstate highways or 4-lane highways. On the freeways the adaptive cruise was usually set at a constant 73 MPH. The trip covered all sorts of terrain and weather conditions, up the mountains out of Phoenix, through quite a bit of rain, some quite heavy, and some strong cross winds.

I liked the Maverick before we left, and I love it now. What a smooth comfortable ride! I have a fair amount of back and hip pain and normally require my wife to drive a significant portion on trips to give me a break. But on this trip I drove the entire 4226 miles with none of the discomfort I expected, without any medication, and without needing to stop every couple of hours. I was completely and pleasantly surprised by this.

The Mav handled the road conditions, traffic, and weather like a champ. Held steady in the very strong cross winds. The only thing that made it shudder a little was a wicked little dust devil that snuck out from an overpass in New Mexico. And completely unaffected when passing or being passed by tractor-trailers.

I love the surprising amount of "juice" it has when needed to make some passes on a few two lane roads.